Practically Shooting

Vortex SPARC

BarryinIN

I like Aimpoints.

They are always my first choice in a red dot sight (RDS).

Sometimes, however, I don't need a $600 RDS. A $50 one won't do it either. That was the gap most of the time. You had the Chinese throwaways at around $30, recently the Bushnell TRS25 at around $50-75, then a big jump up to an Aimpoint at around $400 and up. I don't mind spending $400-600 on an Aimpoint I might need to defend my family with, but it seems a bit much to throw on a .22 or a fun gun. Putting a really cheap one on a fun gun ends up being expensive if they need replaced.

What I think we needed was a RDS for the middle ground. One that worked, held zero, and lasted a long time, but didn't need to be waterproof to 10 meters or literally bombproof like Aimpoints. A decent $200 one.

I had been hearing about the Vortex SPARC for a couple of years. It is Chinese made, but carried and backed by a US company. They had been getting a heck of a reputation, as have some of their higher end tactical scopes like the 1-4X Razor. The SPARC is roughly the size of an Aimpoint Micro (T1/H1) but not a direct copy. It's right at 3" long.

It costs around $200, although I've seen them on sale for around $175-180.

http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vortex-sparc-red-dot-scope

When I got the AUG, I ordered one. I wasn't sure if the AUG would stick around. If it did, it would get an Aimpoint or Leupold Prismatic. In the meantime, I'd use the SPARC. Whether the AUG stayed or left, the SPARC could go on a .22 rifle I shoot a lot. It's strange looking back now that I wasn't sure about the AUG, but I wasn't, and I wanted to use a sight to give it a fair evaluation without spending a lot then not needing it if the rifle left.